Trained volunteers from Winnebago and Ogle counties lead the investment process. These volunteers devote countless hours evaluating community programs against several criteria such as community need and impact, program outcomes and effectiveness, and efficient resource management and collaboration.


Community Wide Committee

Vice Chair of Community Building

Andrea Ward, BMO Harris Bank



Bill Derry, Field Fastener

Linda Gerber, Rock River Valley Blood Center (past vice chair)

Wray Howard, Retired - YMCA of Rock River Valley

Harlan Knuth, Associated Bank

Nick Lauer, Retired - Greenlee/A Textron Company

Laura Mruk, WilliamsMcCarthy LLP

Jim Ryan, City of Rockford

Edward Zurowski, Jr., APWU Local 79


Education Council


Nick Lauer, Retired


Dina Getty, Retired - Winnebago County

Christopher Greenwood, City of Rockford

Phillip Johnson, Retired - AFT/IFT 540

Robert Jones Jr., Workforce Connection

Ald. Thomas McNamara, D-3, Eckburg & Bates Insurance Agency

Julie O’Rourke, Alpine Bank

Kristina Reuber, Golden Apple Foundation

Doug Vanheeren, Eclipse, Inc.


Income and Health Council


Laura Mruk, WilliamsMcCarthy LLP



Ellyn Ahmer, Community Member

Sandra Berumen, Winnebago County Health Department

Mike Broski, Entre Computer Solutions

Owen Carter, City of Rockford

Adam Fleming, WilliamsMcCarthy LLP

Richard Freedlund, Community Member

Michele Griepentrog, Alpine Bank

Cira Guevara, Rockford Career College

Deryk Hayes, St. Elizabeth Community Center

Marcus Hill, Safer Foundation

Lynn Schmalen, FIAT Chrysler Automobiles / UAW Local 1268

Craig Stallings, Rosecrance

Larissa Stern, Winnebago County CASA

Angie Walker, City of Rockford


Ogle County Community Impact Committee


Nancy Headley, Kable Media Services



Emily Anaya, SwedishAmerican Health System

Terry Dickow, Retired - Rochelle Community Unit School District #231

Jesse Hoiness, Rochelle Foods

Sara Isley, AMREP Corporation

John Kane, Stillman Banc Corp

Bob Kartheiser, Exelon Byron Nuclear Power Station 6

Bruce Lampe, Exelon Byron Nuclear Power Station 6

Marseyne Snow, Retired - Exelon Byron Nuclear Power Station 6